May 2012 update

It has been more than 18 months now that I have not been on any medication. My visit to the hematologist last week was a positive one. My platelet levels are within the the normal level which was such a relief. I have been maintaining a healthy lifestyle (exercise at least twice a week – gym or swimming), eat regular meals/healthy diet and managing my stress level.
One other interesting area that I would like to share is that I take freshly brewed coffee every morning. There were studies in the past shows that too much of caffeine intake could harm our body. However, recent studies seemed to prove otherwise. This is an interesting topic that I would like to work on some research of my own to weight the impact of coffee intakes and it’s affects to our human body.
I will share my findings and opinions in my next post.

  1. Tommye
    June 11, 2012 at 11:06 pm

    How long have you had ET? Were you on any meds? How old are you?

    • Bryan
      August 6, 2012 at 3:41 pm

      Hi Tommye,
      I’m in my early thirties when I was first diagnosed with ET. You can read more about my experiences in my blog link – https://lifewithet.wordpress.com/about/
      I have not been taking any medication for almost 2 years now and on doctor’s observation every 3 months to review my platelet counts.

  2. July 13, 2012 at 2:05 pm

    I have been diagnosed with essential thrombocytosis (platelets 860), I do not want to take drugs (dr. suggested hydrea), which has horrible side effects with possible leukemia. I am 57 and scared….don’t know what to do….how did you get your platelet level down??

    • Bryan
      August 6, 2012 at 3:37 pm

      Hi Maribeth,
      I started with Hydroxyurea (hydrea) when I was first diagnosed with platelets over 1,000. According to my Haematologist it is used to control the platelets from escalating. I did experience fatigue an dizzyness while on Hydrea. I was under constant observation by my Haematologist and had my platelet count tested every 2 weeks. This requires blood tests and with constant monitoring, I am able to track if there are any side effects from Hydrea. I was soon switched to Interferon when my platelet count drops below 1,000. Please ensure that you get a doctor that you trust and could talk to. Treatments may differ for different patients as it reacts differently with our body, so best to discuss it through with your doctor.
      Hope you will get better.

  3. Karla
    July 19, 2012 at 4:50 am

    I am 56, going in for a bone marrow biopsy in the morning. My platelets are at 650. I am also scared to death. Scared to have the biopsy itself and what they might find.

  4. Karla
    July 19, 2012 at 9:39 pm

    Went in for the biopsy in the hospital, they took a CBC and my platelets were at 550. I was so emotional before the biopsy I just cried. I think they gave me a little more sedation because when I woke up I was in the recovery looking at my husband. Didn’t feel a thing. Now I have to wait 10 days for the results. I have no idea why my platelet count dropped but hope this is a good sign.

    • Bryan
      August 6, 2012 at 3:29 pm

      Hi Karla,
      I did the same biopsy procedure a couple of years back and the procedure nowadays are painless and quick. I only felt a pressure on my lower back after I regained conscious from the sedation. Hope that your results are fine and that your platelets are at a manageable level.

      • Karla
        August 7, 2012 at 1:13 am

        Platelets are at 550 so no medication, yearly CBC to make sure they are not going up. He said if they go from 690 to 550 and back up and down that was not a concern. If they constantly go up then we have a problem.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

