Home > General ET, Research Updates > Anagrelide vs Hydroxyurea

Anagrelide vs Hydroxyurea

According to an article that I’ve read on the internet, both treatments either  anagrelide or hydroxyurea have no significant difference between them. This research was done with a group of patients and the study was recorded and registered at the U.S. National Institutes of Health

http://www.clinicaltrials.gov as #NCT01065038

Based on the research, Anagrelide as the selective platelet lowering agent is not inferior compared to hydroxyurea in preventing thrombotic complications in patients. More details on the article can be found from the following source below.

Anagrelide_Hydrea

Source:

bloodjournal: http://bloodjournal.hematologylibrary.org/content/early/2013/01/11/blood-2012-07-443770.abstract
Anagrelide: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Anagrelide
Hydroxyurea: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hydroxycarbamide

  1. Lei
    July 29, 2014 at 11:01 am

    Hi, is there anyone who knows where to buy anagrelide in Manila? And how much? Dad’s hematologist prescribed him to take it twice a day.
    Thank you.

  2. Liza C. Pages
    April 1, 2015 at 3:39 am

    Hello my name is Liza I’m an RN licensed in the state of Arizona. My mother has ET and she’s here in the Philippines; the only place that I could get anagrelide is from my doctor,
    unfortunately it’s super expensive. Check with you Hematologist if she sells it. My mother was put on anagrelide 0.5 mg twice a day too,

    • Christy
      September 27, 2015 at 2:45 pm

      September 26, 2015 at 8:15 pm Reply
      Msg ur email add and I will give u d details where to buy dis drug in US & Canada.

  3. Lei
    April 1, 2015 at 8:15 am

    Yes Liza, Anagrelide is very expensive I think it cost around 220 pesos each! Some are selling it even higher. I will try to find it here in Australia but maybe difficult as they will ask for prescription 😦

  4. Lei
    April 1, 2015 at 8:16 am

    My father has Polycythemia Vera.

  5. roy zegers
    May 13, 2015 at 9:34 pm

    The product you are seeking in Aust dollars is about $1200 for 100 capsules.

  6. Lei
    May 14, 2015 at 12:55 am

    OMG! It’s so dear! I feel bad for all patients who need it 😦
    Thanks for the info Roy.

    • Christy
      September 26, 2015 at 8:15 pm

      Hi lei… Msg ur email add and I will give u d details where to buy dis drug

      • lei
        September 27, 2015 at 9:10 am

        Thank you so much Christy.. lea0622dm@yahoo.com

      • Rey Ebilane
        June 2, 2017 at 4:07 pm

        can u also help me where i can buy cheaper anagralide 0.5 my wife is using that for her platelet

      • Rey Ebilane
        June 2, 2017 at 4:10 pm

        hi cristy can u help where to buy anagralide 0.5..this is my email ad
        reyebilane@yahoo.com

        thanks

  7. Jennifer
    May 15, 2016 at 3:59 pm

    My father in law needs 4 capsules/day, we buy it from his doctor at 300pesos/capsule. He’s been taking it for almost 10yrs now with 5 other medicines. Does anybody knew if we can buy it somewhere else at a cheaper price?

    • Christy
      May 15, 2016 at 6:46 pm

      Hi jennifer. Wat’s ur email add so that I can forward u d complete details where u can purchase dis med at a lower price.

      • Rose ann
        September 16, 2016 at 6:29 am

        Where to buy anagrelide 0.5mg
        Thanks

      • September 25, 2016 at 3:25 am

        Ms christy i also need your help where to buy anagrelide 0.5 mg at a lower price my mother need it too for her essential trombocythemia..thanks for your time and concern to us.my email add.mheri20@yahoo.com.gobless

      • jennifer camangyan
        October 31, 2016 at 1:59 am

        Thank u Christy.
        My email ad
        jenefer camangyan@gmail.com

      • jennifer camangyan
        February 11, 2017 at 2:36 am

        Hi Christy, my email ad
        jenefercamangyan@gmail.com
        Thank u

      • dianne
        March 1, 2017 at 4:09 pm

        hi maam. may I know where we can buy anagrelide at lower price? we badly need it po. my father has an ET and we cant afford to support his medicine. thank you. may email is diannerooo@gmail.com

      • Rey Ebilane
        June 2, 2017 at 4:13 pm

        hi cristy please kindly help where to buy anagralide 0.5
        reyebilane@yahoo.com

      • August 3, 2017 at 12:01 pm

        Good pm, I’m Lovely from Davao, Philippines, I just want to inquire if you have this type of medicine Agrylin Anagrelide, if yes, where can we purchase it and how much, Thanks for immediate response. sanicolovely@yahoo.com

    • maria cristina aingh
      June 9, 2016 at 11:34 pm

      hi I’m from the philippines also it so expensive here in the philippines 317 i start taking anagrelide today but i only buy 10 capsules i buy my hydroxyurea and anagrelide in india

      • Chenettesarmen
        August 7, 2016 at 10:56 am

        Hi Ms. Cristina, how much is the ANAGRELIDE you bought from India ? Pwede po pa share Kung saan makabili at a lower cost? Thank you. My email add : chenette.sarmen@gmail.com

      • jennifer camangyan
        February 11, 2017 at 8:50 am

        Hi Ms Maria Cristina, is it okay if I will ask you on how did u order the anagrellide from India?

  8. Don
    July 11, 2016 at 3:04 am

    Hi cristy..same problem I encounter..please help me..cedot_06@yahoo.com.ph, from Philippines..thank you.

  9. Imee Encarnacion
    July 14, 2016 at 4:44 am

    Hi Cristy, please share with me as well where to buy anagrelide. icencarnacion@yahoo.com. Thank you.

  10. AbbyC.
    July 20, 2016 at 3:33 pm

    Hi. I also have the same query. My mom was recently prescribed with Anagrelide 0.5mg 1tab/day. Her hematologist sells it at P300/tab which is too expensive considering all her other medications. I hope you could help me find a better deal. Please email me at bublegumz7@gnail.com Thank you!

  11. Deborah Schmehr
    July 26, 2016 at 8:00 pm

    I am not sure why this medication is so expensive, even after generics have been available for over ten years. I suppose the standard answer is that is an “orphan drug.” But when I worked for a pharmacy, the pharmacist was able to bypass the “list price” and sell it to me at actual cost, so that instead of being US$600 per month for generic, it was only US$25 per month for 0.5 mg three times a day. The prices in Canada were the same as US prices. Maybe see if you can find a pharmacist who will work with you. Mine always had to be special ordered–it’s not a medication pharmacies routinely stock.

  12. Chenettesarmen
    August 6, 2016 at 8:24 pm

    Hi christy please help me where to buy Anagrelide

  13. Chenettesarmen
    August 7, 2016 at 1:17 am

    Hi christy please help me where to buy ANAGRELIDE at a cheaper price
    I was initially diagnosed with polycythemia Vera in 2009 but recently it’s my platelet that is soaring high, I’m prescribe with ANAGRELIDE 2x a day,which is too expensive for me.
    Hope you can help me,thank you.
    My email add : chenette.sarmen@gmail.com

  14. Maria Susan Geotina
    August 9, 2016 at 7:31 am

    hi im susan im also looking for a cheaper Anagrelide 0.5mg. hope someone can share or provide information where to buy. thanks

  15. August 17, 2016 at 9:55 am

    hi cristy,
    mom has been diagnosed with policytemia vera in 2014. Last June 2016, her hematologist prescribed her with anagrelide 0.5 mg because of her platelet counts that soared high. the cost of the anagrelide is to costly for us, can you help me find a distributor here in the Philippines where i could buy at a cheaper price. my email ad is yie_vilchez@hotmail.com. tnx

  16. Tony
    August 27, 2016 at 6:01 pm

    Hello.
    I’m trying to buy Anagrelide 0.5mg. Problem is that the patient living in the country, where anagrelide not exist. And prescription from this country not accepted by pharmacy overseas. Any chance to purchase this medicine without prescription, online, or in Australia? If anyone can advice, please let me know at: woodooboo@hotmail.com
    Thank you.

  17. carl
    September 14, 2016 at 2:39 am

    @chenette
    please check your email

    • dianne
      March 1, 2017 at 4:18 pm

      hi please help me to buy anagrelide at a cheaper price! may father has ET and he needs to take 2 capsules a day and we can’t afford it because its so expensive. Im a minimum wage earner I cant afford to buy anagrelide worth 600 per day. please help us. thank you. may email is diannerooo@gmail.com

  18. February 9, 2017 at 10:42 am

    Hi wer can i buy cheaper.anagrelide here in phil. Thanks

  19. February 9, 2017 at 10:49 am

    Pls.send me wer can.i buy cheaper anagrelide. Thanks.

    marjorie0712@gmail.com

  20. Shane Turner
    March 22, 2017 at 10:08 pm

    Hello my husband has got essential thrombocytosis too..we’re from Australia but can’t take alot with us when we go to the Philippines. He’s taking Hydrea and Agrylin at the moment. Thanks..my email is shaneturner49@bigpond.com

  21. Lei
    March 23, 2017 at 12:30 am

    Hi guys, if the patient is over 60 years old you will get 20% discount. It helps to reduce the total amount. We buy 30 pcs a month.. cost around 5,000 pesos after the discount.

    • dianne
      March 23, 2017 at 9:32 am

      hi Lei where you purchased anagrelide? we bought at Globo Asiatico but it cost us 7000pesos for 28pcs with less 20% na po yun.

  22. b
    April 12, 2017 at 11:24 am

    hi. im also looking where to buy cheaper anagrelide 0.5mg. please help. thank you so much. God bless. email at bianx0720@gmail.com

  23. Rey Ebilane
    April 24, 2017 at 11:54 am

    where i can buy anaglide .5mg here in the phiippines?? an how much?

  24. Rey Ebilane
    April 24, 2017 at 11:55 am

    where i can buy anagralide here in the philippines and how much?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

