May 2014 Update

I have reached a milestone of 42 months without medication or treatment and 5 years since I was first diagnosed with ET. However, I still do visit my Hematologist every 6 months to monitor my platelets as a precaution.

A healthy diet, healthy lifestyle with regular exercise and stress management have been my regular mindset for the past few years now and I hope that might have helped.

With advanced technology and research these days, I do hope that the future is bright for ET patients seeking for a permanent treatment and cure for this rare blood disorder.

Video: Story of a group of patients with blood cancers essential thrombocythemia, myelofibrosis and polycythemia, collectively known as myeloproliferative neoplasms and efforts from MPN Research Foundation.

Pushing MPN Research Forward from MPNRF on Vimeo.

 

  1. bushbunny
    June 21, 2014 at 5:19 am

    I went to see my doctor Haemo, on Thursday, and found that my liver GGT are grossly elevated. He asked me how long I had been taking 6 tablets of Panadol Osteo a day. I said years. Stop it now. They shouldn’t be taken for that long. Now – why didn’t they the doctors seen told me that before. I’m to cut them out for 2 weeks and see if that lowers the GGT, as I don’t drink anymore, but contracted Hep A years ago, but it was not diagnosed as Hep A as I was living in Cyprus at the time. I don’t need a bone marrow biopsy. As I have JAK 2 mutant positive. Future looks brighter. Platelets down. And no increase in Hydrea 500 mg a day.

  2. November 7, 2015 at 6:40 pm

    Hi, Bryan. Looks like it’s been awhile since you have updated your blog, and I hope you’re well. I was just diagnosed with ET, and have also started a blog with associated FB page. If you would like to contribute to either, please visit ethrombo@blogspot.com or facebook.com/ethrombo. If you don’t have time to maintain this blog but would like to submit a guest entry on mine occasionally, I’d be glad to work with you. If that interests you, you can message me through the FB page. Best, Jean.

  3. Aroesa
    July 27, 2017 at 5:02 am

    Hello,
    I also have ET diagnosed recently. Can you share your detailed diet plan to attain normal count of platelets. I will appreciate it.
    Thanks.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

